Pages Navigation Menu

Directors & Officers

Diane Abbett picture.small 6.2013

Director – Diane Abbett

Diane Abbett is President of California Healthcare Insurance Company, Inc., RRG (CHI), a healthcare entity owned company formed in 1988 with the mission to provide the highest quality services and products to manage medical professional and general liability risk.  Ms. Abbett is also President and Chief Executive Officer of Optima Healthcare Insurance Services, a wholly-owned subsidiary of CHI, formed in 1997 as an insurance brokerage and service company.  Ms. Abbett currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors of Californians Allied for Patient Protection (CAPP) and holds a current Certified Public Accountant (CPA) license in the state of California as well as a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from California State University Sacramento.


Director – Jamie Asato

Jamie Asato is with Accuity LLP.



Chair/Director – Cindy Belcher

Cindy Belcher is chief operating officer of the Cooperative of American Physicians, Inc. (CAP), a physician owned and governed organization known for its medical professional liability protection and unparalleled practice resources for California’s finest physicians. She is also chief operating officer and president of the Cooperative of American Physicians Insurance Company, Inc. (CAPIC). Ms. Belcher is a graduate of Oregon State University, Corvallis, where she earned Bachelor of Science degrees in both Science Education and Microbiology. She is also a licensed California property and casualty insurance broker. Among her philanthropic endeavors, Ms. Belcher is a Board Director for City of Hope’s National Insurance Industry Council, which honored her in 2008 with its William R. Story Award for Leadership and Professionalism.


Director – David Beyer

David Beyer is with Alaska Air Group, Inc./ASA Assurance.




Director – Edward Haik

Edward Haik is a Vice President and Senior Portfolio Manager with Bank of Hawaii since 1995.  He is most focused on managing investment grade taxable bond portfolios.  Prior experience includes positions at Garban Tokyo, Ltd., Cantor Fitzgerald Securities, and Merrill Lynch.  Ed has been active with various aspects of the HCIC over the years serving on a number of committees: forum, membership, marketing and legislative.  Mr. Haik received his Bachelor of Arts from the College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, Massachusetts.


Vice Chair/Director – David Kahaulelio 

Dave Kahaulelio has served as President of Queen’s captive insurance company since August 2000 and as Vice President Risk Management of The Queen’s Health Systems since November 2000.  He directs Queen’s Health Systems activities which affect risks of loss, manages underwriting, insurance and reinsurance acquisition and pricing, administers risk finance and transfer programs including workers compensation and captive insurance programs including all claims management activities.  Mr. Kahaulelio joined Queen’s in November 1997 as Manager of Employee Safety and Workers Compensation.  He has over 35 years of experience in insurance claims and sales, having held management positions at regional and national insurance companies.  He attended the University of Hawaii.  He is President and Director of the Hawaii Chapter of Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. (RIMS) and is a member of the American Society of Healthcare Risk Management (ASHRM).  Mr. Kahaulelio has been active with Hawaii Captive Insurance Council (HCIC) and served previously as its past Chairman of the Board.


Director – Christina Kamaka

Christina Kamaka joined Aon in 2003 and currently leads the Captive Insurance team in Hawaii. Prior to joining Aon, she was an audit manager at Ernst & Young LLP. Christina has served as HCIC’s past Vice President, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer and is currently Director and Assistant Secretary.



Director – Denys Kazama

Denys Kazama with Willis Towers Watson.



Treasurer/Director – Jill Miura

Jill Miura is with KMH LLP. 


Vice President/Director –  Ryan Nobriga

Ryan Nobriga is responsible for the financial and risk management functions for Hawaiian Dredging Construction Company. In this capacity, he oversees HDCC’s revenues averaging $520 million and total assets in excess of $300 million. Ryan has over 16 years of experience in the financial arena and has served in many leadership roles in the community.


Director – Fay Okamoto

Fay Okamoto is with Artex Risk Solutions. 


Director – Scot Sterenberg

Scot Sterenberg is with Marsh Management Services Inc.



Secretary/Director – Denise Straka

Denise Straka is with Calpine Corporation. 


Director – Jerelyn Sullivan

Jerelyn Sullivan is with First Hawaiian Bank.




President/Director – Matthew Takamine

Matt Takamine is the head of Beecher Carlson’s Hawaii office and supervises the company’s captive operations for the western United States. Matt has over 15 years of experience working with captive insurance companies. Before joining Beecher Carlson, Matt spent nine years in public accounting with KPMG LLP, most recently as a senior audit manager. Matt has served in many capacities with the HCIC, including director, president, treasurer, as well as serving as government relations liaison, legislative committee co-chair and forum chair. Matt also sits on the board of directors of the International Center for Captive Insurance Education (ICCIE). Matt graduated with distinction from the University of Hawaii with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Accounting. He is licensed to practice as a certified public accountant in the state of Hawaii, and is a member in good standing of the Hawaii Society of CPAs and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.